Week of 2/27/2012:

“This River Is Wild” by The Killers

From their second album, “Sam’s Town,” which I still listen to in the car routinely, despite the fact that pretty much every music critic panned it and called it a sophomore slump. Essentially, the criticism is that they tried to write songs aping Bruce Springsteen and U2 and ended up with something kind of corny. But the thing is, I love listening to most every song on the album and I revel in the corny parts (like the ridiculous Springsteen-esque outro on this track). Anyway, this particular song is the the first song in a great album-closing trifecta; next is “Why Do I Keep Counting?” and “Exitlude.” If you don’t have the album already, download it and listen to the last three songs in succession. Pretty rad, right?

Week of 3/5/2012:

“Gods Will Be Gods” by Echo & the Bunnymen

From their album “Porcupine,” a.k.a. the one before “Ocean Rain.” I just got this album, thanks to an Amazon gift card I got for Christmas, and this is one of the songs on it that I really cannot stop listening to. Everything about this song is cool…the lyrics, the interplay between the instruments, the way the song builds — cool, cool, cool.

Week of 3/12/2012:

“You Got the Fever” by Joe Jackson

This was the B-side of “Is She Really Going Out With Him?” It’s pretty unusual for a New Wave song to feature a harmonica solo!

Week of 3/19/2012:

“I’m Goin’ Down” by Bruce Springsteen

I don’t think I’ll ever get sick of this song (which, by the way, is best listened to in the car with the volume cranked way up). I love Clarence Clemons’ saxophone solo here; it isn’t very technically difficult, but it’s got that certain great, undefinable quality to it. What’s the word for it? Oh yeah: Soul.

