Your extremely late post for the week of 11/5/2012…

“Hang a Picture” by Thee Oh Sees

Transitioning away from Mike’s electronica samples and into some current stuff that I’ve been listening to a lot lately.  Thee Oh Sees are a veteran indie band from San Francisco, and if you’re into serious guitar scuzz, I think you’ll like this track off their new-in-September album, Putrifiers II.  “Hang a Picture” is a swinging midtempo song with a bright, upbeat melody, delivered via a deliciously fuzzy guitar part and ’60s vocal harmonies built around frontman John Dwyer’s falsetto.  To me, it has the feel of a summer song, and while it’s not bubblegum, it also isn’t by any means inaccessible.  This tune has wormed its way into my head, and it is staying put.  Give it a couple of listens and hopefully you’ll be as hooked as I am.

One of the best new songs of 2012 that I’ve heard, for sure.

