It took a while to work up those 2012-in-review posts, so I’ve fallen behind on songs of the week.  However, each week I’ve made a note of the what my song of the week would have been, and now I’m playing a bit of catch-up.  So, for the week of December 24, 2012, my song of the week was:

“Grace” by Country Joe & the Fish

“Grace” is the closing track on Electric Music for the Body & Mind, the landmark debut album by Country Joe & the Fish, released in 1967.  It’s probably one of the best psychedelic rock albums of all time, which is surprising because this band never came close to replicating this accomplishment (although they subsequently recorded one of the best and most memorable Vietnam War protest songs, the demented musical carnival that is “I Feel Like I’m Fixin’ to Die”).  “Grace” is one of the best songs on the record, a slow psychedelic trip/love-song that is nothing short of mesmerizing.  Barry Melton’s guitar is appropriately mysterious, even in his solos, and I get goosebumps every time Country Joe McDonald sings the line “across the tiny door of my eyes.”  Seriously, it’s one of my favorite individual bits from any of the songs in my library.

