It took a while to work up those 2012-in-review posts, so I’ve fallen behind on songs of the week.  However, each week I’ve made a note of the what my song of the week would have been, and now I’m playing a bit of catch-up.  So, for the week of January 7, 2013, my song of the week was:

“Hail Bop” by Django Django

The self-titled debut album from this Scottish band came out just about a year ago now, and several of its songs have pretty thoroughly ingrained themselves in my mind.  Although single “Default” certainly fits that description, it’s the first proper song on Django Django, “Hail Bop,” which I find popping into my mind the most.  It’s also a pretty good example of why describing this band’s sound as a weird combination of the Beach Boys and Kraftwerk (as someone does in the YouTube comments for the below video) isn’t far off the mark.

Yes, this song is about the comet, or at least it uses the comet as a metaphor or something.

